Posted on

Playing Piano

So, I finally decided to learn to play the piano at the age of 43.  I took a series of classes at our local piano store to learn.  I’m doing fairly well, I think.  I’m having difficulty with the left hand; but I’m getting it.

I’ve gotten a few books on reading music and I’m learning to do that to make myself more proficient.  I’ve got two “teach yourself piano” books as well to  practice with.  It’s been a lot of fun learning what I’ve always wanted to know.

For me, music means the world and the world means music.  When I get to heaven, I think I’ll be in the heavenly choir or at least get to mop up after them, just to be near the music.

Music is such a vital part of my life.  It has brought me through some of my darkest hours.  It has lifted me up, it has allowed me to grieve, it has encompassed my soul.  It is the air that I breath.  I constantly have a song in my head.  I sing sporatically through out the day.  I never am far from my musical love.

I sometimes wish I could see music in the same way that the boy in the movie “August Rush” did.  Even though I do not, I do feel the pulse in my body.  Whether I’m singing a silly song, dancing in the grocery store aisle or marching to the beat of my own drummer, I love my music.

My son is also into music.  He plays the drums and tuba.  He’s been in lessons for over a year with his drums and he’s doing pretty good.  He took band in Middle School this year and learned tuba and really likes it.  I’m so proud of him for pursuing his desire to learn an instrument and now he does two.  He also has been tooling around with my keyboard and music as well.  He’s a natural when it comes to reading the music and does better than I do at the keys.  (DANG IT)

I think the variety of music available is so wonderful and I just love how it makes me feel.

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a Senior this year!! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

