Posted on

Surgery done.

So, surgery came and went yesterday without a hitch.  YEAH!!!  My son is handling it like a trooper.  I’m so proud of him.  The doctor told me that his tonsils were 3x’s the normal size and completely full of infection.  UGH!  Good thing we took them when we did or he’d have suffered a long time.  He also told me that antibiotics would never have cure the infection, so we’re feeling really good about the whole decision to go forward.

Three rules for after surgery:  DRINK, DRINK, DRINK!!!!   Lots of fluids to stay hydrated and speed healing.  I’ve gotten Gatorade and flavored waters for the kid and ice creams for shakes.  He’s loving it.  Soft diet for next two weeks and then we see the doctor again and solid food.  He can’t wait.  He wanted pancakes for breakfast; but they’re not on the list, so nope.

He’s laying in my bed now, watching stuff on DVR.  We were up until 3 am last night, watching tv in the living room.  He kept snoozing and waking, until I finally felt him go into a good sleep and we went to bed.  He says he isn’t in so much pain now that he wants the meds.  Only taken 2 doses thus far.  I guess he’ll let me know when he wants it.

I thank God for getting us through all this and am grateful for the success of it all.  Our friend, Eric, came to the hospital to wait with me during the surgery.  What a great friend.  I am truly blessed.

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a teen! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

