Posted on

1000 Words

I recently watched the Eddy Murphy comedy “1000 Words”.  It got me thinking about what I would do if I only had 1000 words left before death.  He couldn’t write the words, he could speak them, sing them or even type them.  What would I do?  What would be most important to say.  I’d want to leave all my love and the unspoken things to my loved ones; but I’d not be able to do so.  My blog would go unread because I’d not be able to fill it.  My life would dissolve into saying only the most important things.

I remember arguments that could easily be seen as wasted words over nonsense.  So many wasted words for what?  To prove a point?  To be right?  To win?  And yet, knowing all this has changed nothing at all.

I think of all the things I want to tell my son.  Things he is not yet ready to hear.  He’s a teen.  He knows it all and I’m not able to get through to him.  I want him to know that he is the most important thing in my life (outside of God) and that the decisions I made to get us to where we are were for the greater good.  That I’d never want to hurt him, ever!   He is and has always been, my everything.

I want to tell my parents that they did a good job raising us.  That even though there were hard times, we had more than some and we are still a great family of loving, caring adults and children.  I want my sisters to know that even though we don’t always agree on everything, that my love for them will last an eternity.  I respect them both so much and I know that with them, I will always have a best friend that is a phone call away.

I’d tell my ex-husband that he’s forgiven for what he is and that I don’t speak ill of him to our son.  That I know he is a product of the way he was raised and the abuses he’s faced and that I forgive him for what he had done to me.  And that a part of me still does and always will love him.  I even pray for him.

I want my friends to know that they mean the world to me and that each one has touched me in some way.  Some have taught me things, so have listened, some have been listened to; but for all of it, I want them to know that in some way, they have touched my life in a special way and i can only hope to have done the same for them.

What would you do with your 1000 words?

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a teen! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

