Posted on

Who am I?

Sometimes I seem to forget just who I am. I’m a woman, first and foremost. I am a child of God. I am a mother, a divorcee, a retired Marine, a church goer, a maid, a dog mom, a cook, a taxi driver, a coordinator, a singer, a dancer, a sometimes romancer, and a basically good person. I read a lot of books, websites, Facebook posts, and blogs. I scrapbook, make cards, sew, and generally craft things.

Am I defined by what I do or what I think or where I am or what? What defines me? Is it my high IQ? My body make up? My disabilities? My pain? What makes me – ME! I’m lost. I’m found. I’m here. I’m there.

Veronica, Roni, Mom, Aunt, sister, daughter, parent, friend, cousin…….

I’m all of these and more. Each day I’m a newly developed me. Each day I start with a fresh page and I paint the canvas of my life with new and interesting journeys. Whether those journeys are just to the bus stop and back or across town or on an ocean voyage, I begin anew each day. The barnacles from yesterday’s hull are scraped clean and I am whole once again.

Each night, I lay aside the paintbrush and let the day’s adventure dry. I pray each night to God and share my life with him. I share my gratitude for Him and what he has done for me that day. I praise him for the gifts and I share my sorrows. I give Him the things I cannot handle. I trust Him to take care of my needs and I got to sleep, sheltered in His protection for my life. I arise the next morning, refreshed and renewed and I begin again with the day HE has given me.

I look out at the world around me and I wish no one my pain, my sorrow or my grief. I wish you all more than I have and can give. I can no longer life in the past, with regrets, with defeat. I can only live for the moments I am given right now. So, right now, I am a mom. I’m sitting on the sofa, typing away, as I listen to my son talk to a friend in his bedroom and I am lucky. I am grateful and I am happy.

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a Senior this year!! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

