Posted on

Social Media or Social Disaster?

I have a “friend” who is on my social media page and her latest stuff is crazy. She is married posting things about how a woman should be treated. She then posts how he will “lose her” if he’s not careful. Then she further goes on to state that she loves him. And then the cycle repeats itself. He is also on my friends list. He hasn’t posted anything in MONTHS, leading me to believe he is not a “media” monger.

Now, in my opinion, she should be working on her marriage more and not posting a bunch of crap on the internet. She should get off the computer, phone, tablet (whatever) and work on the problems, not finding “resources” for complaining about the problem.

When I was married, I did everything I could to save my marriage. I couldn’t because my partner was an abuser. However, if I was able to change the abuse, I would do whatever it took to save it. Marriage is a contract between two people, who vow to love one another FOREVER! It is not disposable. It is not to be taken lightly. It is about staying in the good times as well as the bad. It is about building a life together and when the times get tough, working to achieve harmony between each other so that you can move forward.

Marriage is NOT a place to sling faults into each other’s faces. It is not about who is right and who is wrong. It is about weathering the storms life puts you through and still being able to wake up with your partner the next day.

The strongest marriages I’ve seen have tested the sands of time. My parents have spent 48 years married and 50 years together this year. They have weathered unemployment, jobs they hated, illnesses, broken bones, surgeries, loss of a child, children that were far from perfect, a grandchild out of wedlock, anger, loss of a house, loss of loved ones, moves, dishonest neighbors, alcohol problems, etc. They did not run and hide when the times were tough. They STAYED and worked out the problems.

When I see the divorce rate today or see things in the media about 100 day marriages or social media fall out, I wonder how our lives got so out of control that we feel relationships are so easily made and discarded. I’m saddened by the deterioration of relationships in this world. 😦

Maybe I’m too jaded. I’m longing for the “happily ever after” I used to have and when I see that social media is destroying a short time marriage, I lose heart of that forever.

End of rant. BTW, NO, I can’t talk to her, she’s not receptive to the talk nor is she interested in anyone butting into her business, despite the fact that she puts it out there. UGH!

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a teen! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

