Posted on

Being a Mom

Being a mom in this day and age is hard. We have to compete with electronic devices, outside influences & other things that we happen on a day to day basis. What do I mean? Let me explain.

Electronic devices! UGH! From the Xbox 360 to the Kindle, I’m competing day in and day out with people he has never met that seem to know more than me or even better than me. The Xbox is his gaming community of friends. They influence him with the need to have the next, latest and greatest games to come out each month. This means money and we live on a limited budget.

The computer. The cyber world, especially youtube videos, have captured his interest. He loves to watch videos on all sorts of things such as games, comedy, movie shorts and music. He laughs, sings, etc. at these videos and they have an influence.

His Kindle is the latest device. I thought he’d use it for reading and movies; but he has discovered facebook on it and now he is chatting away with friends from all over and even though I monitor his emails and chats due to a mutual agreement, I still feel that the influence of these friends, from far off places, is very hard.

So, he asks me again today about getting him his own cell phone. I’m not ready for it. He doesn’t need it, so why do I need to get it for him? He already has social media devices, gaming devices and such, he doesn’t need a phone as well, in my opinion. So, I’m one the fence. We shall see.

I, personally, don’t believe that he needs the latest and greatest in everything. My parents didn’t spoil me with the newest things in life and I refuse to do that for him. I worked hard and earned my rewards in life. I believe he needs to do the same. He is only going to be 14 and I think he needs to also mature a bit more before being given all he desires.

I have rules. Until he is graduated & 18 years old, I know his passwords and can read his emails or facebook chats at any time and for any reason. He’s agreed to this and I am glad we have reached this understanding. I hope it isn’t hard to as time goes on for the two of us; but I know he loves and respects me, so I have hope. Plus I pray and pray and pray to the Lord for his protection of my boy.

So, I do the best I can with what I have, battle the influences and pray for the best. I know my parents didn’t have it as hard as I do; but know it was not easy for them either. Thanks, Mom & Dad for what you did for us girls growing up. You were great for what you were able to do for us. 🙂

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a Senior this year!! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

