Posted on

Shopping Ettiquette

I’m so tired of the rude people I encounter each time I have to go to the grocery store. It is ridiculous. You say excuse me and people look at you like you’re speaking a foreign language.

Here where I live, we face the families that bring ALL their relatives with them when they shop or snow birds.

Family shoppers — those who bring 6 to 8 unnecessary people with them to the market in order to block areas where the official shopper isn’t looking for merchandise. These people feel it is okay just stand around, being rude. “Excuse me.” Stupid stare. “Excuse me.” Continued stupid stare. Do they move? No! They continue to block the aisle as if it is okay. Everyone else is a jerk and have to wait until the main shopper moves on to the next item they need.

Snow Birds — The old asses who arrive in the late fall/early winter and stay until the late spring before going back to where they came from up north. These people not only cause congestion in the aisles; but also the parking lots as well. It starts when you drive into the parking lot and narrowly miss being killed by them with their huge, honking cars trying to mow you down like you get points if they hit you. Once they get inside, they drive their carts in the same manner, not caring if they run into you and take off like nothing happened. Then they park their carts in the middle of the aisle and block it off so that no one can get by. Dirty look if you DARE touch their cart to move it. The nerve! When they proceed to the check out, watch out! They love to run their carts into your ass. If there is a millimeter of space between you and your cart, they WILL invade it. Personal space? What’s that?

I have also met the occasional rude European at the market as well. We have a lot of German’s that vacation in the area as well and this has lead to a few battles with personal space, crowding and rudeness; but not nearly as bad as those listed above.

I hate to shop. I am a get in, get what I need, get out type of girl. I don’t want to be a looky loo or a leisurely shopper. I want to spend as little time in the store as possible. I take my list, get the items I need and leave. I don’t want nor need distractions. I am not rude. I don’t park my buggy a mile away and walk to the item I need. I don’t block others out of the aisle. I don’t crowd others. I am polite to others. I try to be pleasant.

For me, the rudeness of others is my biggest pet peeve when shopping. Be considerate of those around you. We all want to get our items and go; but we don’t all want to have to run an obstacle course in order to do it.

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a teen! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

