Posted on

The Love of a Dog.

I have always loved dogs and especially my own. I’ve been blessed over the last 20 years to have had several that mean the world to me. I fell in love with the Pomeranian breed when I first adopted a little guy named Jake. Jake was the sweetest, handsomest, baby boy I ever had. He was my best friend for only 6 short months. Jake was my constant companion. He was the original purse puppy because he always got in my purse and went with me everywhere. He didn’t care, as long as we were together. He was so good to me and for me. When I was so sick, he was my love and my heart.

Due to a horrible accident, Jake went to heaven on May 1, 1996. I was devastated. The love of my life was gone. I got another Pomeranian later that day. My little Fox. Foxy was a small, red Pomeranian of 8 weeks, who picked me. Happy, smiley, sweet baby boy, Fox decided he wanted to be with me. I cried many an night and day into his puppy fur for the loss of my Jake. He let me. Patiently, he snuggled in and let me grieve. It took me a long time to get over the loss. I even told Fox he’d never be as pretty as Jake or as good as Jake. He proved me wrong.

Foxy became the most beloved family member I have ever had. At 6 months old, we got Fox a companion named Dolly. Dolly was a sweet little girl with the best disposition I’ve ever seen. She was a lover and the best doggy mom I’ve ever known. Dolly was a blonde Pom. The two of them were my babies and I just loved them so much. They helped me therapeutically with my pain and illness.

Almost two years later, we welcomed our first litter of puppies. Five little Poms were born on January 13, 1998. The runt of the litter, a tiny guy I called Peanut, soon made his home with us and we had the three of them for many years to come. Dolly had a total of 3 litters and 10 puppies (5 – 2 – 3) before I had her spade and she was so wonderful.

I remember in 1999, when I had my son, my Ex brought the blanket our son was wrapped in home for the dogs to smell and recognize before bringing the baby home. After the three dogs smelled the blanket, Foxy took the blanket, jumped up on the bed with it, curled up in it and went to sleep. The next night, when I brought our son home, the dogs loved him. Foxy climbed up into the car seat with the boy and laid on him. We had to remove Fox from him — too funny. Love was in the air.

Each dog loved that boy and he loved them. Protectors, companions, friends, playmates — they each loved our son and he loved them. In 2005, our son was given a Corgi – Jack Russell mix puppy, whom Dolly took under her wing and mothered. It was the sweetest thing.

In May of 2007, at the age of 11, Dolly went to heaven. She went to sleep and dreamed those big doggy dreams. Three months later, in August 2007, Peanut followed her when he got an infection in his stomach and died. My heart was broken, again. He was only 9 years old.

In 2008, while surfing the internet, I came across a 4 month old Pomeranian with blonde hair and soft, sweet eyes. I fell in love and soon, Teddy joined our family. Fox was aging and Tippy is my son’s dog, so I brought home another little boy to ease me into the transition of loss I knew would be coming.

Many things happed in the interim — moves, separations, reconciliations, heartache….until 2009 when Foxy was called home to heaven at the age of 13. It was a few weeks in coming, my little old man was losing his hair, smelled like dog and getting week. He always had a smile on his face and as the days were getting closer, he was loved so greatly and slipped off into the night to join the rest of our doggy family in heaven. It has been 5 years and I still miss him dearly.

My home is filled with love and the best companions ever. Teddy & I have become very close since Fox has been gone and Tippy is still the love of my son’s life. We’re happy and I can’t imagine a life without my animal friends. Life is better with a small, furry companion.

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a teen! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

