Posted on

Neighbors

After being here in this house for the last 3 1/2 years, I finally met my neighbors across the street.  It wasn’t because I wanted to, either.  I just happened to back out of my driveway and into their illegally parked, brand new Mercedes GLK350.  The fact that it was blocking our driveway, as they usually do, should have been reason for me to have been more careful; but ACCIDENTS happen. 

I feel terrible that I didn’t even notice it.  It was parked in my blind spot and as I was backing out, I just hit it.  Thankfully, no one was hurt.  Thankfully, the damage was minimal.  It was the first time I’d been in an accident in about 10 years. 

Well, I walked to their door and asked to speak with the car owner.  I then told him what I had done and he followed me out.  He was not happy and I did apologize to him for the incident.  I then went into my house, retrieved my camera and photographed the two vehicles.  The police were called and we proceeded to wait for their arrival.

Several minutes later, SHE comes out of the house.  She proceeds to tell me that I’m an ass for not having noticed the car when backing up and then tells me that the whole neighborhood hates me and that I am rude.  WOW!  Really?  This is the first time in the 3 1/2 years I’ve been here that I even saw her.  At no time did she, her family or anyone else on our street ever say two words to us.  I used to wave at them and the other neighbors when I first moved in; however, they never responded, so I just stopped.  I was blamed for “letting my dog defecate on one of their lawns”; but that, too was a crock, since the accuser said she watched me let my dog do so the day before; but we had just gotten back from Miami that morning and my dogs were with me, so my dog couldn’t have did the doo!  I was also told by the accuser that she’d lived here for the last 30 years and I was the only one with a dog in the neighborhood who walks my dog past her house and no one else would let their dog crap on her property!  Go figure.  We also have a LOT of dogs in the neighborhood, so I’ve come to the conclusion she is daft.  😀

Anyway, the police officer came to the house, took our information, took photos and then cited that both of us for the cause of the accident, which had them pissed off.  There excuse was that their son was moving the cars so he could drive; but he nor his car, were present when the accident happened, so the car was “parked” illegally while he was out driving. 

BTW, even my insurance agent asked why they were parked illegally and when I explained this is a regular event, he was amazed they would constantly park to block my driveway and not on their lawn; but actually on the street. 

Well, today my friend  popped the dent back out with a push and my damage is just a few scuffs and scratches.  Mine looked far worse than theirs; but I’m sure theirs will be more expensive since it is a Mercedes and new.  I’m sorry it happened; but had they not been parked the way they were, I wouldn’t have hit it. 

Oh well, whatever.  What’s done, is done. 

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a Senior this year!! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

