Posted on

Band on the Field…

This has been an exciting new school year for us here at home. My son is in the Marching Band and playing Bass Drum. He is LOVING IT! (Both is half sister and brother did this when they were in school as well.) This means I have officially become a “Band Mom”. LOL! Fun! Since I am limited as to what I can and can’t do, I have been given the task of chaperone. I chaperone in the band room and bleachers during home games and on the bus and bleachers on the away games. I also get to put the put the drape on the podium for half time shows and have the first aid hit/medical release forms for away games. Life is good. πŸ˜€

So, at first, my son had his tuba for band; but HATED IT!!! He wants to be a drummer. He wants it so badly that he would’ve quit rather than play tuba, so our wonderful band director encouraged him to play the bass drum, of which they did need two more drummers. YEAH for him.

So far, our football team is undefeated with the last game being very close; but a win none the less. My son is loving being on the drum line. They also have an indoor drum line which competes in the state as well and he is looking forward to doing this as well.

The band is wonderful and this year they are doing Latin music. Our Drum Major is a great gal and does a fantastic job. We’ve known her since we’ve moved here — she goes to our church. My son really caught onto the music and movements quickly. I was impressed. He looks great in his uniform and I’ve flooded my Facebook page with photos from each game. They play in the stands, they play on the field, they march and they rock! I just love it.

My son is so enjoying the experience. He is loving the music, the playing and the new friends he’s made. Oh he’s also in JROTC. It is Army; but at least he’s involved in a leadership program. He’s also enjoying this experience as well. He’s doing their marksmanship program. He’s very busy this year. Monday & Thursday’s he’s doing double duty after school with both band and JROTC, Wednesday’s he is teaching his Youth Bible Study and Friday’s are games. Then in October, Saturday’s will be MPA’s so we’ll increase our activities. He’s a busy boy; but that’s good. At least he won’t be in any trouble. πŸ˜€

Just got his progress report and it was very good. A’s in everything; but Honors Biology, which was a B+ (90) so I can’t complain. All his classes are Honors (including Geometry). My son is exceling this year and I couldn’t be prouder of him. He’s very talented and I think he wants a career in the music field, so I want to push him toward his goal and watch him soar! I just love this kid! ❀

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a teen! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

