Posted on

Painting

I’ve picked up a paintbrush for the first time in 29 years.  I can’t believe I’m doing it.  As a crafty person, I am not surprised by the need to express myself; but I guess I never thought I’d start painting again.

I took art classes in high school and became pretty good at it at that time; but I left behind the paint and pencils long ago.  It wasn’t until I took a few free classes at our local Michael’s that I’ve found my inspiration once again.

Last night, I created a “Red Riding Hood” painting that I must say impressed me.

20161119_210630.jpg

Back in HS, I loved painting in both tempera and acrylic mediums. This painting is in acrylic and I’m relearning how to texturize, build and express myself through my work.  I have a heavy hand and have to learn to use lighter strokes to not push the paint; but allow it to flow freely to make the painting come to life.  I can’t force it, even though the control freak in me so wants to do just that. LOL!

I think Red is brave.  I think she is going to a place that even though she wants to, is also a bit afraid to go; but she’s pushing herself to do it.  There is so much that is unknown and she will conquer that fear.

I don’t know if I’m good.  I don’t know if I’m not.  What I do know is that I enjoyed the experience and I am pleased with the way it turned out.  I’m ready for the next one.  My art tends to be on the dark side sometimes; but I’m okay with that.  Sometimes we have to use the darkness in order to find the light.

About irishgoddess1337

Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, PTSD, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! I love music! My son plays drums in his band, The Offbeats! We live with two fur babies -- Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a comment