Posted on

Hidden Figures

If you have an opportunity to see the movie, “Hidden Figures” it is well worth your time and I give it a 5 star rating of OUTSTANDING!

What these women were able to accomplish astounds me in a world that was living in the stone age.  That fact that Ms. Goble had to walk 1/2 a mile to and from the bathroom had me so pissed off.  That Ms. Jackson had to petition the court to be able to attend school to become an engineer had me seething.  The fact that Ms. Vaughan had to steal a library book in order to advance her position had me cheering her on.  This movie is beautiful and I congratulate those brave Ladies for their part in making history.  I’ve always loved history and this movie did not disappoint.

Having not grown up in a time of segregation, it was appalling for me to witness the discrepancy. I cried, I laughed, I wanted to embrace those ladies for what they had to endure and thank them for it.

I’ve always believed in equal rights for all people.  I don’t think anyone is better than anyone ever.  I may be smarter than someone or more skilled; but I am no better.  I treat the janitor the same way I treat the CEO.  It’s my heart.

I remember one time in the Marine Corps when I was getting a “your people owned my people” lowdown from another Marine.  After his rant about how bad my ancestors were, I politely told him about how my Great Grandfather came over with his young bride to America in the early 1900’s and when they were looking for men to defend this country, he joined the US Navy in defense of his new nation.  I explained how my mother’s mother was born on the boat over from Ireland and how her father was also an immigrant who worked in the coal mines in PA and later died of a heart attack due to complications from Black Lung disease.  I explained how hard it was for them to survive and how they were both dirt poor.

I told him I made no assumptions about his background and how he should not make them about mine.  My OIC (Officer in Charge) overheard the conversation and clapped, he then chased this young man back to his van to get back to work.  (I worked in Avionics and we worked in van pads).  The Marine Corps taught me a lot of things.  It taught me that prejudice can be on all sides.

I grew up in a very small town and my best friend was not white.  We had family friends that were Jewish and I even went to Synagogue with them.  We had Puerto Rican friends that we shared many a meal & camping trips with.  This White, Catholic girl didn’t know any better.  I didn’t know I wasn’t supposed to be friends with them.  I was never told to judge them based on their skin color; but by their character.  I didn’t know I wasn’t playing by the “rules”.  When they cried, I cried.  When they laughed, I laughed.  When they loved me, I loved them back.

I’m so glad that I am color blind; but I also appreciate those who have fought the fight to get us to today.  The people who have made a sacrifice to advance our culture and lives deserve the recognition for doing so.  Those who stand up for what is right and don’t back down.  The true heroes of our time.  I salute them. ❤

 

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a Senior this year!! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

