Posted on

Expectations

I was just on FB and saw one of my friends received both flowers and chocolate covered strawberries from her husband.  I smiled and liked her post; but it has gotten me thinking.  We women seem to have all the advantage.

For me, I’ve never been with a man who went out of his way to do things like that for me no matter the holiday.  My ex used to tell me I wasn’t his mother, so I didn’t need to get anything from him, even when my child was not old enough to get me a thing, on Mother’s Day.  He stopped getting me Christmas gifts after the kid was born, too.  Birthday gifts?   Are you kidding me?  Of course, his idea of great gifts were appliances or things he could use.  I always got him things for Father’s Day, birthdays, Christmas, Anniversary and Valentine’s day.

I’m different.  I spoil those I love.  For me, I love to show my affection by spoiling with things I know they would love.  I make special meals, I like to keep favorite snacks on hand and I listen when they say they like this or that.  For me, it is an expression of love.

I just sent my dear friend a painting I made just for her and a handmade scarf.  She received it yesterday and absolutely loves them.  I was so happy that she did.  She is a terrific person and had a bit of a rough time last year and I have been thinking of her.  She’s also an inventor and her new line “Baby Tripster” is in the manufacturing stage and about to launch.  So happy for her.

I am someone who does that sort of thing and not for any other reason than because I love to treat my friends to a touch of kindness.  I have several other gifts going out to friends in the next week as well.  I make these things from the heart.  It is just who I am.

Anyway, it seems we women have the advantage and I just don’t think I like that.  Yes, I like it when a man opens a door for me, treats me like a lady and does nice things for me.  However, I am very much a person who likes to do the same for those in my life that mean the most.  I don’t expect it to be one-sided.  We woman need to do our part, too.  Men like to be spoiled as well.

Some of the things I have done for the “man” in my life (when there was one) are:

Take their vehicle in for an oil change.  (Gift certificate if they just had it done)

Wash their car.  Either myself or to a pro who will detail it and make it sparkle!

Make a favorite meal or take them out for that favorite meal.

Round of golf, tickets to sporting event or other favorite activity they enjoy.

I have incredibly strong hands and have been known to give full body massage as well as done pedicures on my man.  Nothing better than making sure they are relaxed and refreshed.

Hobbies?  Always a great idea to get something that correlates to a favorite pastime.

Music lover?   Get him an mp3 player with some of his favorite music on it or make him a CD to remind him of you.

There are so many things that will tell him that he’s special to you.  So, this Valentine’s Day, don’t forget about that man in your life.  Spoil him with something that will knock his socks off.  Let him know he means as much to you as you do to him. ❤

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a Senior this year!! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

