Posted on

Forgiveness

Last night’s sermon was on Forgiveness.  When someone hurts you, do not repay them in kind.  It’s not God’s way.

Oh is this one hard.  Our first instinct is to get vengeance.  However, it is not easy; but we truly need to “give up the privilege to hurt others in return”.  God does not forgive us if we do not forgive others.  Vengeance belongs to God alone.

Romans 2:4 Or do you despise the riches of His goodness, forbearance, and longsuffering, not knowing that the goodness of God leads you to repentance?

The answer is to Pray.  Pray earnestly for your enemies.  If you do, God will work in your life.  He will remove the hurt from your heart and He may even soften the one who is being prayed for.  If you pray for them, you will definitely be a different person because of God.  Pray by name.  Seek reconciliation.

Have you ever known a happy hater?  Hatred, bitterness, anger ~~ it will consume you.  It steals your joy.  Unforgiveness leads to worry, guilt, unhappiness.  As long as God has work for you, on one can touch you.  Do God’s work.   God and only God can bring about that change of heart.

Luke 23:34 (a)  Then Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they do.”  Even Jesus forgave from the cross.

I have forgiven my sisters and father for what they have said about me and to me, the hurts they have inflicted upon me.  But, as I listened to my Pastor speak on forgiveness, I realized that even though I have forgiven, I do have the choice to not subject myself to their further hurt of me.  I can be at peace with what they have done and not allow them to inflict further damages.

I still struggle sometimes with why they treat me so badly; but if I am to know, God will let me know.  What I do know is that not allowing toxic people in my life, try to control my life or even ruin my life, is a choice I do have control over.  I stand up for me and do not allow them to cause me pain.

I pray for them.  As God has directed me to do so.  My love for these toxic people is without judgment.  It is without pain.  It is whole and truthful.  I do not allow them power over me anymore.  If that is not what they want, they can change themselves with God’s help.  It is not for me to judge, it is between them and God.

On another note, I am still struggling with God’s vision.  <sigh>  It is not easy.  He still keeps telling me to await His perfect timing.  I am not a patient person by nature.  The struggle is real.  I want to tell the promised person that it is God ordained; but it is not for me to do so at this point.  Being obedient to God is not always easy.

I am trusting Him in this endeavor.  I just wish He’d hurry up.  I still am trying to “give up” on him; but he doesn’t make it easy.  I also found out that he stalks my FB page. Ha, ha.

Life is so complicated.  <sigh>

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a Senior this year!! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

