Posted on

Sleep?

Ah, second night in a row where sleep is elusive.  My son started band camp today and it was a mere 4 hours of sleep for me before hand and thus far, none since.  <sigh>  I hate nights like this.  Face is pulsing with pain.

Today was an active day for me.  Dropped him off, got some boxes and came home to try and reduce the crap around the house.  So far, filled two boxes with donations and threw away a bunch of stuff that no one wants.  I kept myself busy doing so that the time would pass, however, it still seemed to drag on.

My son’s class ring came in today and he loves it.  Looks nice.  He enjoyed the first day of camp and really likes the new band director.  After 3 years with a self center brat, it’s nice to have a “human” in charge.  He said, “I really like the new director, mom, he actually cares about us, not like Ms. *.  So & so got hurt and he went to check on him to ensure he was okay.  Ms. * NEVER did that.  She just didn’t care at all.”

On Tuesday, we had an evening meeting to meet the new director and fill out all the necessary paperwork in order for the kids to participate.  He spoke for 30 minutes and really seems like a good guy.  After the last two years of me not volunteering due to Ms. * being pissy, I found out that last year, she took the Band Parent Officers  to the principal for nearly the same reasons she reported me for 2 years ago.  Failure to communicate and her just being a poor leader.  They proved her wrong and she left with egg on her face.  She decided to move on to Middle School; because she couldn’t handle it in High School.  Whatever.

As for me volunteering this year, I will not.  Unless they have Indoor Drumline again.  Then, I will drive kids to competitions since I like to go anyway.  As for any other times, I may volunteer as a chaperone only.  I’m not pushing myself to do more than that.  I’m just not up to it medically.

My son is excited about band this year.  He gets to “tap off” and the new director treats him like his go to guy for percussion.  BTW, the director is a percussionist, too.  My son already spoke with him about the 4th Jazz video he needs for MU’s audition/application, and has been assured that they will work together to make it happen.  COOL.

So proud of my son for the great young man he is becoming.  He’s taking on a lot of responsibilities lately and showing himself to be a truly successful Senior.  His academic excellence is shining through as well, since he’s a member of the National Honor Society.  He is my heart.  I so look forward to seeing God’s plan work in his life.  I truly think he will do amazing things.

Loving my God lead life!!!

 

About irishgoddess1337

SAHM, Retired Marine, Christian who survived Domestic Violence, living with Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Migraine, TMJ, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Sleep Apnea and living my life for Jesus! My son is a Senior this year!! YIKES! I love music! My son plays drums in his High School Marching Band & Percussion group. We live with three fur babies -- Tippy the Corgi and Honi & Teddy the Poms. I scrapbook, stamp and make rag dolls for fun! I've recently started acrylic painting and making jewelry. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

